27.—Areas and Populations of the Countries or Areas of the World—concluded

Continent and Country	Area	Population
	sq. miles	'000
Oceania—concluded		
Non-sovereign Countries		
American Samoa (U.S.) British Solomon Islands (U.K.) Canton and Enderbury (U.K. and U.S.) Christmas Island (Aust.) Cocos (Keeling) Islands (Aust.) Cocos (Islands (U.K.) Frinch Polynesis (Fr.) Gilbert and Ellice Islands (U.K.) Guam (U.S.) Nauru (Aust., N.Z. and U.K.) New Caledonia (Fr.) New Guinea (Aust.) New Guinea (Aust.) New Herides (U.K. and Fr.) Niue (N.Z.) Norfolk Islands (U.S.) Pacific Islands (U.S.) Papua (Aust.) Picairn (U.K.) Tokelau Islands (N.Z.) Tokelau Islands (N.Z.) Tonga (U.K.) Wake Island (U.S.) Wake Island (U.S.) Wake Island (U.S.)	76 11,500 27 52 52 590 7,015 1,544 212 8 7,336 92,160 5,700 100 14 687 86,100 2 4 270 3 77	25 137 3 1 21 464 88 52 77 6 91 1,576 68 5 1 91 573 2 73 1 8
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics		
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics	8,649,539	230,600

¹African population only. ² Created Nov. 8, 1965 and comprising Chagos Archipelago (formerly dependency of Mauritius) and the islands of Aldabra, Farquhar and Des Roches (formerly dependencies of Seychelles). ³Latest official estimate. ⁴ Fewer than 500 persons. ⁴ In 1967 this group acquired a new constitutional status as Associate States; they have full internal self-government but Britain is responsible for defence and external affairs. ⁴ Excluding Indian jungle population. ⁻ Excluding nomadic Indian tribes. ♣ Created Mar. 3, 1962 and comprising former dependencies of Falkland Islands south of 60 latitude, i.e., the South Orkney Wand 80 W. ♠ Excluding Jammu and Kashmir, the final status of which has not yet been determined. ♠ Comprises Aden and 16 of the 17 states of the Western Protectorate. ☐ Il Britain remains responsible for defence and external affairs. ☐ Less than one square mile. ☐ Inhabited only in winter season; Norwegian population only.